top of page

Recital: Works of Kay, Hoover, Acosta, Lopez

Dr. Charlotte Daniel

Conference Room

Saturday, 11:30-12:00

A program of engaging repertoire, with a brief spoken introduction to share background information on both the composer and the context, style, and challenges of the piece. Unaccompanied repertoire offers so many benefits to performers of all levels, and the potential for adding more breadth to our solo flute repertory is an exciting possibility for both performers and audiences. I have found these works to be wonderful inclusions in the applied studio, in addition to the traditional staples of the solo flute repertoire.

Prelude for Unaccompanied Flute (1943) Ulysses Kay (1917-1995)

Kokopeli (1991) Katherine Hoover (1937-2018)

Solo de Pajarillo (1992) Omar Acosta (b.1964)

Mångata - Reflejos de la luna en el Jerte (2018). Francisco López

Recital: Works of Kay, Hoover, Acosta, Lopez

Dr. Charlotte Daniel serves as Assistant Professor of Flute at the Baylor University School of Music, flutist with the Baylor Winds, and Principal Flutist of the Waco Symphony Orchestra. She has served as performer, educator, and adjudicator for programming led by the National Flute Association, Musical Merit Foundation of San Diego, Austin Chamber Music Center, International Double Reed Society, American Viola Society, Plano Symphony

Orchestra, Texas Flute Society, Austin Flute Society, Houston Flute Club, Mountain Light Music Festival, Abilene Philharmonic, Austin Symphony Orchestra, Round Rock Symphony, Ann Arbor Opera, Music Teachers National Association, Texas Music Educators Association, University Interscholastic League, and the XIII Festival Internacional de Música Alfredo de Saint Malo in Panama with the Baylor Winds.

Guest artist visits also include The University of Kansas, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, University of North Texas, University of Texas at Austin, University of Texas-San Antonio, University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley, Texas A&M University-Commerce, Oklahoma State University, University of Central Oklahoma, Bowling Green State University, Northern Kentucky University, and SUNY-Potsdam. Before her appointment at Baylor, she was a Silver Medalist at the 2016 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, and Coleman-Saunderson Prize winner at the Coleman Chamber Ensemble Competition with the QuinTexas Wind Quintet. Her principal teachers include Marianne Gedigian, Amy Porter, and Conor Nelson, and she earned degrees from The University of Texas at Austin (DMA), University of Michigan (MM), and Oklahoma State University (BM).

bottom of page